Review: American Vampire 2nd Cycle #10

October 4th, 2015 | by AJ DeMare
Review: American Vampire 2nd Cycle #10
Comics
62
Price:
Very Good

Reviewed by:
Rating:
4
On October 4, 2015
Last modified:October 5, 2015

Summary:

Scott Snyder and Rafael Albuquerque continue their vampire epic, with highs outweighing the lows in this issue.

Vampires in space. Need I say more? Scott Snyder’s American Vampire epic from Vertigo Comics is still chugging along, and it’s great to be along for the ride. Read more here in our ComiConverse review.

American Vampire has seemed to fall off the radar for a lot of comics readers in 2015, but Scott Snyder/Rafael Albuquerque’s book is still a compelling read, and I give it a huge recommendation. Visually, it’s as good as ever, while the story still throws in a few curveballs to keep things interesting.

MORE NEWS FROM THE WEB

We find our heroes split up on two different missions, with the ladies Pearl and Felicia tasked to recover the Isakku (save-everyone weapon), while Skinner Sweet and Calvin Poole are making history as the first vampires to perform a spacewalk, in order to stop nuclear war of course.

The latter is a spectacle to watch unfold, as Albuquerque’s art speaks for itself and really conveys the amount of fun the artist is having with a no-gravity fight to the death against Russian 3rd Tier Carpathian Vampires (wait what?). Even though this scene is completely ludicrous, Snyder still grounds it with Skinner Sweet’s devilish attitude, having him state “So a billion f$$$ing stars out here, and ours is the only one they’re allergic to?”

Screen shot 2015-09-30 at 7.55.33 PM

Credit: Vertigo Comics

Meanwhile, Pearl and Felicia are realizing their futility at Area 51, after General Dizzy betrays them and forces the pair to escape in a bloody stampede. Albuquerque really shines during this escape, showcasing Pearl’s vicious nature and her willingness to kill/dismember. It was quite obvious that the General was going to backstab them, and this contributes to one of the minor issues with the current story arc, which is introducing characters that are clearly going to betray Pearl and her gang. It’s sometimes pretty blatant, but forgivable since there are so many wheels turning in the story.

Screen shot 2015-09-30 at 7.56.56 PM

Credit: Vertigo Comics

The relationship between Calvin and Skinner is really the only glimmer of hope that we get to see throughout the whole issue, with Calvin choosing to save Skinner albeit him knowing that Skinner could transform into his uncontrollable tongue-self without his Gold I.V. drip. All of this turns out to be for nothing, when ground control head Bixby reveals he is working with the darkness all along (surprise), and strands the two up in space a la Clooney/Bullock style. These panels really stand out visually; two American Astronaut Vampires drifting away together.

Screen shot 2015-09-30 at 7.58.15 PM

Credit: Vertigo Comics

The good with Issue #10 is the writing between the characters, and the great is the artistic ingenuity. Second Cycle really conveys the love that Snyder has for his fanged children, and shows he is not finished with this universe yet. Little hints at things like The Council and The Ancients really keep this book interesting and making me want more. The universe that this pair has built is fantastic; starting in the 1800’s and moving through history, the reader really feels immersed in this world and it’s inhabitants.

Overall, Second Cycle has been a great read and is slowly unveiling the true faces that are hunting our heroes. The characters are in the direst of circumstances, and with previous issues exploring the nature of the “First Evil”, I can’t wait until we get more from the duo of Snyder and Albuquerque.

Story continues below

Let us know what you thought of the issue, and if you’re excited for what’s next!

 

AJ DeMare is a contributor to ComiConverse. Follow him on Twitter: @PermaTrashed

Scott Snyder and Rafael Albuquerque continue their vampire epic, with highs outweighing the lows in this issue.

(Visited 228 times, 1 visits today)

62 Comments

  1. I just want to say I am newbie to weblog and certainly liked you’re website. Likely I’m want to bookmark your blog post . You actually have awesome articles. With thanks for revealing your website page.

  2. Sorry for the huge review, but I’m really loving the new Zune, and hope this, as well as the excellent reviews some other people have written, will help you decide if it’s the right choice for you.

  3. Technology says:

    I like what you guys are up also. Such intelligent work and reporting! Keep up the superb works guys I have incorporated you guys to my blogroll. I think it’ll improve the value of my site 🙂

  4. hey there and thank you for your info – I’ve definitely picked up anything new from right here. I did however expertise a few technical points using this web site, as I experienced to reload the web site many times previous to I could get it to load correctly. I had been wondering if your web host is OK? Not that I’m complaining, but sluggish loading instances times will often affect your placement in google and can damage your quality score if advertising and marketing with Adwords. Anyway I’m adding this RSS to my e-mail and could look out for a lot more of your respective fascinating content. Ensure that you update this again soon..

  5. Business says:

    Hi there, I found your blog by means of Google whilst looking for a comparable matter, your website got here up, it seems to be good. I have bookmarked it in my google bookmarks.

  6. Automotive says:

    Super-Duper site! I am loving it!! Will be back later to read some more. I am bookmarking your feeds also

  7. Business says:

    great submit, very informative. I ponder why the opposite experts of this sector do not notice this. You should continue your writing. I am sure, you’ve a huge readers’ base already!

  8. Automotive says:

    I’m really impressed with your writing skills and also with the layout on your weblog. Is this a paid theme or did you modify it yourself? Either way keep up the excellent quality writing, it is rare to see a nice blog like this one today..

  9. Business says:

    Wow, wonderful blog format! How lengthy have you been running a blog for? you made running a blog look easy. The full look of your web site is wonderful, let alone the content!

  10. Business says:

    Thanks for any other great post. Where else could anybody get that kind of information in such a perfect manner of writing? I’ve a presentation subsequent week, and I’m on the search for such info.

  11. I do agree with all of the concepts you’ve presented for your post. They are really convincing and can certainly work. Still, the posts are very brief for novices. Could you please extend them a bit from next time? Thanks for the post.

  12. Automotive says:

    Thanks for sharing excellent informations. Your web-site is so cool. I’m impressed by the details that you have on this blog. It reveals how nicely you perceive this subject. Bookmarked this website page, will come back for extra articles. You, my friend, ROCK! I found just the information I already searched all over the place and simply couldn’t come across. What a perfect web-site.

  13. wonderful submit, very informative. I ponder why the opposite experts of this sector don’t notice this. You must continue your writing. I am confident, you’ve a huge readers’ base already!

  14. Automotive says:

    I precisely needed to thank you very much again. I am not sure the things that I might have worked on in the absence of the entire tips and hints documented by you over my area of interest. It had become the difficult situation for me personally, nevertheless looking at this expert style you dealt with it forced me to cry for happiness. Now i am grateful for your help and in addition pray you comprehend what an amazing job you’re putting in instructing others via your blog. Most probably you have never come across any of us.

  15. Legal says:

    You completed various good points there. I did a search on the subject and found a good number of persons will agree with your blog.

  16. Automotive says:

    Awsome post and straight to the point. I don’t know if this is really the best place to ask but do you guys have any ideea where to get some professional writers? Thanks in advance 🙂

  17. Thanks for some other informative website. Where else may I am getting that type of information written in such a perfect approach? I’ve a mission that I’m simply now running on, and I have been on the look out for such info.

  18. Wow! Thank you! I always needed to write on my blog something like that. Can I take a portion of your post to my blog?

  19. Its like you read my mind! You appear to know a lot about this, like you wrote the book in it or something. I think that you can do with some pics to drive the message home a little bit, but instead of that, this is excellent blog. A fantastic read. I’ll definitely be back.

  20. Wow! This could be one particular of the most beneficial blogs We’ve ever arrive across on this subject. Basically Excellent. I’m also an expert in this topic therefore I can understand your effort.

  21. Pets says:

    Well I sincerely enjoyed studying it. This post offered by you is very practical for proper planning.

  22. Pets says:

    Hey, you used to write fantastic, but the last several posts have been kinda boring¡K I miss your super writings. Past few posts are just a little bit out of track! come on!

  23. great points altogether, you just received a new reader. What may you suggest in regards to your put up that you made a few days ago? Any sure?

  24. I and my pals came reviewing the good tricks on your site and then suddenly I got an awful feeling I had not expressed respect to you for those strategies. All the men came as a result joyful to read through them and have clearly been taking pleasure in them. Appreciation for indeed being so accommodating as well as for considering such amazing subject areas most people are really desirous to learn about. Our own honest regret for not expressing gratitude to you sooner.

  25. Pets says:

    Great blog here! Also your website loads up fast! What host are you using? Can I get your affiliate link to your host? I wish my website loaded up as fast as yours lol

  26. Excellent read, I just passed this onto a friend who was doing some research on that. And he actually bought me lunch since I found it for him smile Thus let me rephrase that: Thanks for lunch!

  27. Pets says:

    Thank you a bunch for sharing this with all folks you really recognise what you’re speaking approximately! Bookmarked. Please also visit my website =). We may have a link change agreement between us!

  28. you are actually a excellent webmaster. The website loading pace is incredible. It seems that you are doing any unique trick. In addition, The contents are masterpiece. you’ve done a great task on this subject!

  29. Law & Legal says:

    hey there and thank you for your information – I’ve certainly picked up something new from right here. I did however expertise a few technical points using this website, as I experienced to reload the web site a lot of times previous to I could get it to load properly. I had been wondering if your web hosting is OK? Not that I’m complaining, but slow loading instances times will often affect your placement in google and could damage your high-quality score if advertising and marketing with Adwords. Well I’m adding this RSS to my email and could look out for a lot more of your respective exciting content. Make sure you update this again soon..

  30. Hello There. I found your blog using msn. This is an extremely well written article. I’ll be sure to bookmark it and return to read more of your useful information. Thanks for the post. I’ll certainly comeback.

  31. I¡¦ll right away clutch your rss as I can’t find your email subscription hyperlink or e-newsletter service. Do you have any? Kindly let me recognize in order that I may just subscribe. Thanks.

  32. My wife and i felt relieved when Raymond managed to deal with his research from your precious recommendations he made from your very own web pages. It is now and again perplexing to simply continually be giving for free instructions which other folks have been selling. And we all take into account we need the blog owner to be grateful to for that. Most of the explanations you made, the straightforward blog menu, the friendships you can make it easier to foster – it’s got most awesome, and it’s really helping our son in addition to us imagine that this matter is exciting, which is incredibly serious. Many thanks for all the pieces!

  33. It is suitable time to construct some desires for the extended term. I’ve browsed this document and if I may just, I wish to suggest you handful of interesting tip.

  34. Please let me know if you’re looking for a article author for your site. You have some really great articles and I think I would be a good asset. If you ever want to take some of the load off, I’d love to write some content for your blog in exchange for a link back to mine. Please send me an email if interested. Kudos!

  35. Healthy Life says:

    I must express my passion for your kind-heartedness in support of men and women who have the need for help on this content. Your special commitment to passing the solution along had been definitely interesting and have consistently helped regular people just like me to realize their ambitions. The warm and friendly tutorial denotes so much a person like me and much more to my colleagues. Best wishes; from everyone of us.

  36. An outstanding share! I have just forwarded this onto a friend who had been conducting a little homework on this. And he in fact bought me lunch because I found it for him… lol. So allow me to reword this…. Thank YOU for the meal!! But yeah, thanks for spending the time to talk about this issue here on your website.

  37. Dead composed subject matter, thanks for selective information .

  38. Law & Legal says:

    Thanks a lot for sharing this with all folks you really understand what you are talking about! Bookmarked. Please also visit my site =). We could have a link trade contract between us!

  39. Education says:

    Wow, superb blog format! How lengthy have you ever been running a blog for? you make blogging look easy. The overall look of your site is excellent, as smartly as the content!

  40. Education says:

    Hi, i think that i saw you visited my site so i came to “return the favor”.I’m trying to find things to enhance my web site!I suppose its ok to use a few of your ideas!!

  41. As the admin of this web site is working, no hesitation very soon it will be well-known, due to its feature contents.

  42. Divorcemind.com is a online divorce resource for divorce attorney, attornies and lawyers. You will find the best divorce information online. Divorce Mind will make your divorce or separation a quick, convenient and private.

  43. Very nice post. I just stumbled upon your blog and wished to say that I’ve truly enjoyed surfing around your blog posts. In any case I will be subscribing to your rss feed and I hope you write again soon!

  44. Divorcemind.com is a online divorce resource for divorce attorney, attornies and lawyers. You will find the best divorce information online. Divorce Mind will make your divorce or separation a quick, convenient and private.

  45. imsc says:

    IMSC SEO is a Singapore SEO Company. They provide comprehensive Singapore SEO services to help SG businesses to gain traffic from search engine. Their SEO agency has many years of experiences working with overseas companies on more competitive grounds. They are the best seo company in Singapore you can find. Their SEO expert and consultant understand exactly what search engine optimization your company need to gain search engine traffic.

  46. Donate Car says:

    Wow, awesome blog layout! How long have you been blogging for? you make blogging look easy. The overall look of your website is wonderful, as well as the content!

  47. More Info says:

    SacramentoCremation.us is one of the leading crematorium services in the Sacramento area. Feel free to contact us regarding any questions on Sacramento Cremation Services or concerns you might have. Our staff will respond to you as soon as possible.

  48. Zune and iPod: Most people compare the Zune to the Touch, but after seeing how slim and surprisingly small and light it is, I consider it to be a rather unique hybrid that combines qualities of both the Touch and the Nano. It’s very colorful and lovely OLED screen is slightly smaller than the touch screen, but the player itself feels quite a bit smaller and lighter. It weighs about 2/3 as much, and is noticeably smaller in width and height, while being just a hair thicker.

  49. Emery EPS says:

    Emeryeps is a SEO(Search Engine optimzation) and Internet Marketing company. They help businesses to get traffic from various search engine and online community. They have seo experts and consultants with many years of SEO Experiences. No matter where your business is located, EmeryEPS.com can help your business to secure your highly convertible leads online.

  50. click here says:

    SacramentoCremation.us is one of the leading crematorium services in the Sacramento area. Feel free to contact us regarding any questions on Sacramento Cremation Services or concerns you might have. Our staff will respond to you as soon as possible.

  51. Do you have a spam issue on this website; I also am a blogger, and I was curious about your situation; many of us have created some nice practices and we are looking to trade solutions with others, be sure to shoot me an e-mail if interested.

  52. Apple now has Rhapsody as an app, which is a great start, but it is currently hampered by the inability to store locally on your iPod, and has a dismal 64kbps bit rate. If this changes, then it will somewhat negate this advantage for the Zune, but the 10 songs per month will still be a big plus in Zune Pass’ favor.

  53. IMSC SEO is a Singapore SEO Company. They provide comprehensive Singapore SEO services to help SG businesses to gain traffic from search engine. Their SEO agency has many years of experiences working with overseas companies on more competitive grounds. They are the best seo company in Singapore you can find. Their SEO expert and consultant understand exactly what search engine optimization your company need to gain search engine traffic.

  54. The new Zune browser is surprisingly good, but not as good as the iPod’s. It works well, but isn’t as fast as Safari, and has a clunkier interface. If you occasionally plan on using the web browser that’s not an issue, but if you’re planning to browse the web alot from your PMP then the iPod’s larger screen and better browser may be important.

  55. Emeryeps is a SEO(Search Engine optimzation) and Internet Marketing company. They help businesses to get traffic from various search engine and online community. They have seo experts and consultants with many years of SEO Experiences. No matter where your business is located, EmeryEPS.com can help your business to secure your highly convertible leads online.

  56. “Great Blogpost! great threat, i like it, thanks very_ much.”

  57. My URL says:

    I’m extremely pleased to find this page. I wanted to thank you for your time just for this fantastic read!! I definitely enjoyed every bit of it and i also have you saved to fav to see new stuff in your blog.

  58. I simply need to inform you you that I am new to wordpress blogging and absolutely enjoyed your information. Very likely I am inclined to remember your blog post . You undoubtedly have fantastic article materials. Admire it for discussing with us all of your url post

  59. My spouse and i have been so satisfied when Jordan managed to round up his investigation out of the ideas he received when using the web site. It’s not at all simplistic to simply possibly be releasing secrets some others could have been trying to sell. We really see we’ve got the writer to thank for that. The entire illustrations you’ve made, the easy site navigation, the friendships you can help engender – it’s got everything astounding, and it’s leading our son in addition to us imagine that that concept is enjoyable, which is certainly very pressing. Thank you for the whole lot!

  60. I wish to express some appreciation to this writer just for bailing me out of this type of condition. Because of surfing through the search engines and seeing things which were not beneficial, I was thinking my entire life was done. Being alive without the solutions to the issues you have sorted out as a result of your good posting is a critical case, as well as the ones that might have in a negative way affected my entire career if I had not come across the blog. That understanding and kindness in handling a lot of stuff was tremendous. I am not sure what I would’ve done if I had not encountered such a solution like this. It’s possible to at this point relish my future. Thanks for your time very much for this expert and sensible guide. I won’t be reluctant to refer your web blog to anyone who should have tips on this issue.

  61. As a Newbie, I am constantly exploring online for articles that can help me. Thank you

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Pin It on Pinterest

Share This