Join Us / Login

Preacher Review: ‘Sundowner’

James Morgan James Morgan
Contributor
July 10th, 2016

Digital Wizard | Photographer | Film & TV enthusiast http://www.thecamerasuite.com

Preacher Review: ‘Sundowner’
Headlines
68 Comments
Review of: Preacher
Price:
Promising

Reviewed by:
Rating:
5
On July 10, 2016
Last modified:July 10, 2016

Summary:

After a very slow first half, Preacher redeems itself with its most action packed episode to date.

Review of: Preacher
Price:
Promising

Reviewed by:
Rating:

5
On July 10, 2016
Last modified:July 10, 2016

Summary:

After a very slow first half, Preacher redeems itself with its most action packed episode to date.

Since the pilot episode first aired, Preacher began to slow down very quickly. This week’s episode ‘Sundowner’ gave us some insight then went absolutely nuts. 

When AMC’s Preacher series was first announced, my first thought was – not another series centred on Angels and God. We’ve already had 11 years of Supernatural, Lucifer, the cancelled Constantine and Damien series which both tackled the same subject matter which has since got very boring and unappealing.

How wrong I was, Preacher is a show you need to watch.

angels

Credit: AMC

In this week’s Sundowner Jesse (Dominic Cooper) is briefed by Angels Fiore (Tom Brooke) and DeBlanc (Anatol Yusef) on exactly what it is that is inside Jesse – the offspring of a Demon and Angel called Genesis. The Angels then follow a blonde haired woman outside and shoot her. Turns out she is a Seraphim – a bounty hunter Angel from heaven sent to track down the two Angels for leaving heaven without permission. A flash of light appears as the Seraphim is ressurected as the trio narrowly escape stupidly leaving a bible as a clue for her.

Jesse, Fiore and DeBlanc are then tracked to the motel room which is followed by an amazing choreographed fight scene with included, blood splatter, hotel trashing and stunt double mayhem. The camera then pans back through a fish eye hole in the wall for us to hear the conflict and then the titles role. Possibly the only opening sequence to combine dark humour, fighting scene and death so successfully. Finally the three have nearly restrained the Seraphim when Cassidy (Joseph Gilgun) shows up, shoots her in the head and jokes “you boys throw a party and don’t invite me?”

When the Seraphim is finally apprehended, Jesse tells the Fiore and DeBlanc to stay away from him using Genesis’ powers and leaves with Cassidy.

Screen Shot 2016-07-05 at 10.09.02

Credit: AMC

In the next scene Tulip (Ruth Negga) shows up at Emily’s (Lucy Griffiths) house to threaten her, but they end up bonding. We see two sides to tulip and how easily she can change. Next we get to know more about Eugine (Ian Colletti), the kids at school are being extra nice to him following the Preacher’s guidance which makes the final scene even harder to bear when the Preacher accidentally sends him to hell. There is some comic relief added in between while Jesse and Cassidy wait for there bloody clothes to get clean. Dominic Cooper and Joseph Gilgun are in the roles they were born to play, there chemistry together would make Magneto and Charles Xavier jealous. Cooper makes a very convincing preacher with a history  while Gilgun as Cassidy is perfect as a drunk, drug addict vampire and sidekick.

Screen Shot 2016-07-05 at 10.12.50

Credit: AMC

The best thing about this episode was that beautiful opening scene, shot and edited so fluidly that it will be difficult to top, but sadly the rest of the episode didn’t live up to it. Preacher also found its direction, we saw that angels get hunted for leaving heaven and that they can fight very well, which could cause a lot of trouble for the Preacher – eventually other forces are going to try and hunt down the abomination Genesis. It also adds more depth into the story, fans have been wondering what exactly is Jesse capable of with his new powers (poor Eugene).

Finally, there was as much action and comedy as there was in the successful pilot. For weeks now Preacher has been dragging its feet. The series finally has more of a purpose, Jesse knows there is a god, he knows there are powerful forces coming for him and now he has got to save Eugene from hell. The only things that  Preacher needs now is a kickass villain to rival Jesse’s power, enter the cowboy.

AMC is responsible for hit series Breaking Bad and The Walking Dead. Preacher manages to not make religion boring mixing humour and violence, with Seth Rogen and Evan Goldberg steering this ship Preacher is also going to be another hit for AMC.

Preacher only gets better and better, tune in Sunday 10th for the next explosive episode.

 

James Morgan is a Contributor to ComiConverse. Follow him on Twitter:@thecamerasuite

Preacher

  • 5

Promising

After a very slow first half, Preacher redeems itself with its most action packed episode to date.

(Visited 398 times, 1 visits today)

68 Comments

  1. I just want to tell you that I’m new to blogging and site-building and seriously loved you’re web-site. Likely I’m want to bookmark your website . You surely have amazing stories. Regards for sharing your website.

  2. This is getting a bit more subjective, but I much prefer the Zune Marketplace. The interface is colorful, has more flair, and some cool features like ‘Mixview’ that let you quickly see related albums, songs, or other users related to what you’re listening to. Clicking on one of those will center on that item, and another set of “neighbors” will come into view, allowing you to navigate around exploring by similar artists, songs, or users. Speaking of users, the Zune “Social” is also great fun, letting you find others with shared tastes and becoming friends with them. You then can listen to a playlist created based on an amalgamation of what all your friends are listening to, which is also enjoyable. Those concerned with privacy will be relieved to know you can prevent the public from seeing your personal listening habits if you so choose.

  3. I meant to submit you that small word just to say thank you when again for those terrific techniques you have contributed in this case. This is very remarkably generous with you in supplying unreservedly all that numerous people could probably have marketed for an electronic book to generate some dough on their very own, chiefly contemplating that you could probably have tried out it in case you deemed important. People assistance also served to grow to be uncomplicated way to be specific that numerous people have the exact same fervor seriously like my extremely personal to find out way additional in regard to this matter. I know there are many additional satisfying sessions forward for these who scan as a result of your website publish.

  4. Arts & Dance says:

    Hey very cool website!! Guy .. Beautiful .. Superb .. I will bookmark your site and take the feeds additionally¡KI’m glad to find so many helpful information right here in the publish, we’d like develop more techniques on this regard, thank you for sharing. . . . . .

  5. Technology says:

    I have to show my appreciation for your generosity giving support to persons that actually need help on this matter. Your personal commitment to passing the solution across became especially effective and have regularly encouraged somebody much like me to attain their desired goals. Your warm and helpful help and advice indicates a whole lot a person like me and even further to my mates. Thank you; from each one of us.

  6. Business says:

    What i don’t understood is actually how you are no longer really much more smartly-appreciated than you may be right now. You’re so intelligent. You recognize therefore considerably when it comes to this subject, produced me in my opinion believe it from numerous various angles. Its like men and women aren’t fascinated except it¡¦s something to accomplish with Girl gaga! Your own stuffs great. At all times deal with it up!

  7. Business says:

    Thank you for the good writeup. It in fact was a amusement account it. Look advanced to more added agreeable from you! By the way, how could we communicate?

  8. Automotive says:

    Well I definitely liked reading it. This subject procured by you is very helpful for accurate planning.

  9. Business says:

    I would like to thank you for the efforts you’ve put in writing this website. I am hoping the same high-grade site post from you in the upcoming as well. Actually your creative writing abilities has encouraged me to get my own blog now. Really the blogging is spreading its wings quickly. Your write up is a good example of it.

  10. I appreciate, result in I discovered exactly what I used to be looking for. You have ended my four day lengthy hunt! God Bless you man. Have a great day. Bye

  11. Legal says:

    Hi my loved one! I wish to say that this article is amazing, great written and include approximately all important infos. I would like to peer extra posts like this .

  12. Automotive says:

    hi!,I really like your writing very so much! proportion we keep in touch more about your post on AOL? I need a specialist in this space to solve my problem. Maybe that is you! Looking forward to look you.

  13. Sports says:

    Hello, i think that i saw you visited my site so i came to “return the favor”.I’m attempting to find things to improve my web site!I suppose its ok to use some of your ideas!!

  14. Travel says:

    I wanted to put you that little observation to finally give thanks once again on your extraordinary pointers you have shared in this case. It was simply shockingly open-handed with you to offer publicly all that some people could possibly have offered for an electronic book in making some dough on their own, precisely seeing that you could possibly have tried it in the event you decided. These pointers also served to be a good way to comprehend someone else have the same zeal like my very own to realize way more when considering this issue. I know there are some more pleasant periods up front for individuals that scan through your blog.

  15. Pets says:

    I precisely wished to say thanks yet again. I am not sure the things I could possibly have achieved without the actual suggestions provided by you on that topic. Previously it was an absolute fearsome matter in my view, but encountering your specialized mode you solved the issue took me to weep with gladness. I’m just grateful for the guidance and as well , trust you find out what an amazing job that you are putting in teaching people through your websites. I am certain you haven’t got to know all of us.

  16. Law & Legal says:

    hello there and thank you for your info – I have certainly picked up something new from right here. I did however expertise some technical issues using this web site, as I experienced to reload the web site lots of times previous to I could get it to load correctly. I had been wondering if your web hosting is OK? Not that I’m complaining, but slow loading instances times will sometimes affect your placement in google and can damage your quality score if ads and marketing with Adwords. Anyway I am adding this RSS to my email and could look out for much more of your respective interesting content. Ensure that you update this again very soon..

  17. I would like to thank you for the efforts you have put in writing this website. I am hoping the same high-grade site post from you in the upcoming also. Actually your creative writing skills has encouraged me to get my own web site now. Really the blogging is spreading its wings fast. Your write up is a good example of it.

  18. Pets says:

    Hiya, I am really glad I’ve found this information. Today bloggers publish only about gossips and net and this is actually frustrating. A good web site with exciting content, that is what I need. Thanks for keeping this site, I will be visiting it. Do you do newsletters? Can not find it.

  19. I like what you guys are up also. Such smart work and reporting! Keep up the superb works guys I have incorporated you guys to my blogroll. I think it will improve the value of my web site 🙂

  20. Pets says:

    Hello there, just became aware of your blog through Google, and found that it’s truly informative. I’m gonna watch out for brussels. I’ll be grateful if you continue this in future. A lot of people will be benefited from your writing. Cheers!

  21. Pets says:

    Keep functioning ,great job!

  22. Great post and straight to the point. I don’t know if this is in fact the best place to ask but do you people have any thoughts on where to get some professional writers? Thank you 🙂

  23. I savor, lead to I found just what I used to be having a look for. You’ve ended my 4 day lengthy hunt! God Bless you man. Have a great day. Bye

  24. I truly appreciate this post. I¡¦ve been looking everywhere for this! Thank goodness I found it on Bing. You have made my day! Thank you again

  25. Thanks , I’ve recently been searching for info approximately this subject for a while and yours is the greatest I’ve discovered so far. However, what about the conclusion? Are you positive about the source?

  26. Please let me know if you’re looking for a article author for your weblog. You have some really good articles and I think I would be a good asset. If you ever want to take some of the load off, I’d really like to write some content for your blog in exchange for a link back to mine. Please send me an email if interested. Kudos!

  27. Some genuinely superb content on this website, appreciate it for contribution. “Gratitude is not only the greatest of virtues, but the parent of all others.” by Cicero.

  28. Healthy Life says:

    I truly appreciate this post. I have been looking everywhere for this! Thank goodness I found it on Bing. You’ve made my day! Thank you again!

  29. imsc seo says:

    IMSC SEO is a Singapore SEO Company. They provide comprehensive Singapore SEO services to help SG businesses to gain traffic from search engine. Their SEO agency has many years of experiences working with overseas companies on more competitive grounds. They are the best seo company in Singapore you can find. Their SEO expert and consultant understand exactly what search engine optimization your company need to gain search engine traffic.

  30. Law & Legal says:

    As a Newbie, I am permanently searching online for articles that can be of assistance to me. Thank you

  31. Divorcemind.com is a online divorce resource for divorce attorney, attornies and lawyers. You will find the best divorce information online. Divorce Mind will make your divorce or separation a quick, convenient and private.

  32. divorcemind says:

    Divorcemind.com is a online divorce resource for divorce attorney, attornies and lawyers. You will find the best divorce information online. Divorce Mind will make your divorce or separation a quick, convenient and private.

  33. Woman says:

    Some truly good blog posts on this web site , thanks for contribution.

  34. Family says:

    hi!,I really like your writing very much! share we keep in touch more about your article on AOL? I need an expert on this space to solve my problem. Maybe that’s you! Looking forward to peer you.

  35. Very nice post. I just stumbled upon your weblog and wished to say that I have truly enjoyed surfing around your blog posts. After all I’ll be subscribing to your feed and I hope you write again soon!

  36. divorce mind says:

    Divorcemind.com is a online divorce resource for divorce attorney, attornies and lawyers. You will find the best divorce information online. Divorce Mind will make your divorce or separation a quick, convenient and private.

  37. Emeryeps is a SEO(Search Engine optimzation) and Internet Marketing company. They help businesses to get traffic from various search engine and online community. They have seo experts and consultants with many years of SEO Experiences. No matter where your business is located, EmeryEPS.com can help your business to secure your highly convertible leads online.

  38. Emeryeps is a SEO(Search Engine optimzation) and Internet Marketing company. They help businesses to get traffic from various search engine and online community. They have seo experts and consultants with many years of SEO Experiences. No matter where your business is located, EmeryEPS.com can help your business to secure your highly convertible leads online.

  39. This is getting a bit more subjective, but I much prefer the Zune Marketplace. The interface is colorful, has more flair, and some cool features like ‘Mixview’ that let you quickly see related albums, songs, or other users related to what you’re listening to. Clicking on one of those will center on that item, and another set of “neighbors” will come into view, allowing you to navigate around exploring by similar artists, songs, or users. Speaking of users, the Zune “Social” is also great fun, letting you find others with shared tastes and becoming friends with them. You then can listen to a playlist created based on an amalgamation of what all your friends are listening to, which is also enjoyable. Those concerned with privacy will be relieved to know you can prevent the public from seeing your personal listening habits if you so choose.

  40. Unquestionably believe that which you said. Your favorite justification seemed to be on the net the simplest thing to be aware of. I say to you, I definitely get annoyed while people think about worries that they just do not know about. You managed to hit the nail upon the top as well as defined out the whole thing without having side-effects , people can take a signal. Will likely be back to get more. Thanks

  41. IMSC SEO is a Singapore SEO Company. They provide comprehensive Singapore SEO services to help SG businesses to gain traffic from search engine. Their SEO agency has many years of experiences working with overseas companies on more competitive grounds. They are the best seo company in Singapore you can find. Their SEO expert and consultant understand exactly what search engine optimization your company need to gain search engine traffic.

  42. Between me and my husband we’ve owned more MP3 players over the years than I can count, including Sansas, iRivers, iPods (classic & touch), the Ibiza Rhapsody, etc. But, the last few years I’ve settled down to one line of players. Why? Because I was happy to discover how well-designed and fun to use the underappreciated (and widely mocked) Zunes are.

  43. The new Zune browser is surprisingly good, but not as good as the iPod’s. It works well, but isn’t as fast as Safari, and has a clunkier interface. If you occasionally plan on using the web browser that’s not an issue, but if you’re planning to browse the web alot from your PMP then the iPod’s larger screen and better browser may be important.

  44. Emery EPS says:

    Emeryeps is a SEO(Search Engine optimzation) and Internet Marketing company. They help businesses to get traffic from various search engine and online community. They have seo experts and consultants with many years of SEO Experiences. No matter where your business is located, EmeryEPS.com can help your business to secure your highly convertible leads online.

  45. that site says:

    It really is the right day to make some options for the upcoming. I’ve go through this blog post and if I have the ability to, I wish to encourage you a few entertaining instruction.

  46. Profile Blog says:

    It’s almost unattainable to find well-qualified viewers on this subject, then again you look like you understand the things you’re raving about! Bless You

  47. Unbelievably alluring specifics you’ll have stated, thanks for submitting.

  48. Of course, what a magnificent website and educative posts, I definitely will bookmark your blog.Best Regards!

  49. What i don’t realize is if truth be told how you are not really a lot more neatly-favored than you might be right now. You are so intelligent. You recognize thus considerably in the case of this matter, made me in my view imagine it from a lot of varied angles. Its like men and women aren’t involved until it is something to do with Woman gaga! Your personal stuffs nice. All the time deal with it up!

  50. Nice post. I was checking continuously this blog and I am impressed! Very helpful information specifically the last part 🙂 I care for such info much. I was looking for this particular information for a long time. Thank you and good luck.

  51. I’ll gear this review to 2 types of people: current Zune owners who are considering an upgrade, and people trying to decide between a Zune and an iPod. (There are other players worth considering out there, like the Sony Walkman X, but I hope this gives you enough info to make an informed decision of the Zune vs players other than the iPod line as well.)

  52. Nice blog here! Also your web site loads up fast! What host are you using? Can I get your affiliate link to your host? I wish my site loaded up as fast as yours lol

  53. Wow, superb blog layout! How long have you been blogging for? you made blogging look easy. The overall look of your web site is fantastic, as well as the content!

  54. Hello my family member! I want to say that this post is amazing, nice written and come with approximately all important infos. I would like to peer more posts like this .

  55. I just wanted to send a quick message to be able to say thanks to you for these lovely ways you are sharing at this website. My time-consuming internet look up has at the end of the day been recognized with beneficial details to share with my visitors. I would tell you that many of us readers are extremely fortunate to dwell in a notable website with many perfect people with very beneficial things. I feel really fortunate to have discovered your entire webpage and look forward to so many more entertaining minutes reading here. Thanks again for a lot of things.

  56. Business says:

    Pretty section of content. I just stumbled upon your site and in accession capital to assert that I get in fact enjoyed account your blog posts. Anyway I will be subscribing to your augment and even I achievement you access consistently rapidly.

  57. Business says:

    Thank you so much for giving everyone a very nice opportunity to discover important secrets from this site. It is usually so beneficial and also jam-packed with a good time for me and my office co-workers to search your web site more than 3 times every week to read through the newest secrets you have got. And lastly, I’m so always pleased with your unique strategies you serve. Selected 3 ideas in this posting are indeed the finest we’ve ever had.

  58. I loved as much as you’ll receive carried out right here. The sketch is attractive, your authored material stylish. nonetheless, you command get bought an edginess over that you wish be delivering the following. unwell unquestionably come more formerly again since exactly the same nearly very often inside case you shield this hike.

  59. Jenniffer says:

    Useful information. Lucky me I discovered your site by chance, and I’m stunned why this accident did not took place in advance! I bookmarked it.

  60. A powerful share, I simply given this onto a colleague who was doing just a little evaluation on this. And he in truth purchased me breakfast as a result of I found it for him.. smile. So let me reword that: Thnx for the deal with! However yeah Thnkx for spending the time to debate this, I really feel strongly about it and love reading more on this topic. If doable, as you develop into experience, would you mind updating your blog with more details? It’s extremely helpful for me. Massive thumb up for this blog publish!

  61. Excellent weblog right here! Additionally your web site so much up fast! What host are you using? Can I am getting your associate hyperlink on your host? I wish my website loaded up as quickly as yours lol

  62. My spouse and i ended up being quite lucky when Edward managed to do his web research out of the ideas he received using your web page. It’s not at all simplistic just to always be offering things which usually some others have been making money from. And we fully grasp we need the website owner to appreciate for this. The main explanations you’ve made, the simple blog menu, the friendships you can help to engender – it’s got many astonishing, and it is helping our son in addition to us know that that topic is awesome, which is certainly unbelievably pressing. Many thanks for all!

  63. Technology says:

    you’re in point of fact a excellent webmaster. The web site loading speed is amazing. It seems that you are doing any unique trick. Furthermore, The contents are masterpiece. you have performed a excellent process on this topic!

  64. Technology says:

    You made various fine points there. I did a search on the subject matter and found the majority of folks will consent with your blog.

  65. Technology says:

    You made some clear points there. I did a search on the issue and found most persons will approve with your blog.

  66. Howdy! Quick question that’s totally off topic. Do you know how to make your site mobile friendly? My site looks weird when viewing from my iphone4. I’m trying to find a template or plugin that might be able to correct this issue. If you have any suggestions, please share. Thanks!

  67. Everyone loves what you guys tend to be up too. Such clever work and coverage! Keep up the very good works guys I’ve added you guys to blogroll.

ComiConverse with us...

Yes No