2016 Comics Movies: A Complete Preview

November 22nd, 2015 | by Ryan Mayer
2016 Comics Movies: A Complete Preview
Graphics
51

2016 is set to be one of the most exciting years in the history of blockbuster movies. Our Ryan Mayer, with a little help from the ComiConverse infographic team, has taken deep dive into the 2016 line-up.

The superhero era has been alive and well since the early 2000’s and it seems like its continuing to grow everyday. The demand for more of these types of movies has certainly exceeded the supply – at least so far. In 2016, many are hoping the superhero genre will hit it’s new golden age. Next year will bring seven different superhero movies to the big screen.

Credit: ComiConverse

Credit: ComiConverse

The period between August of 2015 and the release of Deadpool in February of 2016 will have been the longest stretch of time comics fans will have had to do without a film fix at the theatres.

MORE NEWS FROM THE WEB

Thats just six months.

From February onwards, fans will be guaranteed a superhero movie every five months for the next 5 years.

2016 is shaping up to be the biggest super powered cinema show ever.

The seven movies scheduled for release in 2016 are also ones that many fans didn’t believe they would see on the big screen. Some projects, like the Sinister Six, did indeed crumble before they could be launched.

Arguably the top three movies being released in 2016 are Batman v. Superman: Dawn of Justice, Captain America: Civil War, and X-Men: Apocalypse; with each film poised to drive their respective studios and franchises to even greater heights.

There is so much to choose from, its tough for a comics fan to know where to start.

Story continues below

Fortunately, we’re here to break it all down for you on ComiConverse!

Finally. Deadpool.

The first movie that will be released in 2016 is the highly anticipated Deadpool film.

The movie will star longtime Deadpool fan and leader of the push to get this movie made – Ryan Reynolds.

The film itself is about Wade Wilson, who is diagnosed with cancer throughout his body. He turns to the Weapon X program (the same one that turned Wolverine into an adamantium filled-death machine); just like Wolverine, he then possesses a healing factor. However, the healing factor continuously heals the cancer in so rapid a fashion that it creates a scarring effect on his body.  It also causes his mind to slip and he begins to go a “bit” insane.

The Deadpool movie is something that fans have been hoping and begging for years. It was not until some test footage was leaked from FOX that fans got to see the potential this movie could have. The reaction to the test footage was so positive that FOX decided to greenlight the project.

This movie will be the first of it’s kind, having a big name company taking a shot on a B-list character who is not for children in any way, shape or form. The film will be dirty, bloody, and hilarious. Just to show the first official trailer on Conan, they needed to change the rating of that night’s show to “TV-MA”. The movie will set a precedent for future comic films that are more out-of-the-box and which will feature lesser-known characters.

Deadpool releases February 12, 2016.

Batman v. Superman: Dawn of Justice

Story continues below

The next movie schedule to be released is one of the most anticipated superhero films since the Avengers.


On March 25, 2016 fans will be flooding theatres to watch is Batman v. Superman: Dawn of Justice. This film will officially start the DC Extended Universe (DCEU), which will be DC Comics’ first interconnected universe on the big screen. In this film, as the title suggests, it will be Batman (Ben Affleck) taking on Superman (Henry Cavill) after the events that transpired in Man of Steel – though the exact timing and duration of that confrontation remains a mystery. This will be the first time in cinema history we will be seeing two of comic’s most iconic heroes battling on film.

This film however will not only have these two big icon’s showing up. This will also be the first time fans will be seeing the new Batman who will be playing the part for the next 5-10 years. Batman will be played by well known actor and award winning director Ben Affleck. As director Zack Snyder stated the first part of the title is “Batman v. Superman”, but the last part is “Dawn of Justice”; with each part of the project seeking to address a different aspect of the Justice Legaue’s origins story.

None other than Wonder Woman, who is being played by Gal Gadot, is due to hit the big screen for the first time in the character’s history. She will be an “important part” of the story, said Gadaot.  Wonder Woman looks set to be the reason the “DC Trinity” come together in the end; which will lead to the future Justice League movies.

Other League members will also be showing up in this huge production. Some of the heroes we already know about are Aquaman (Jason Momoa), Flash (Ezra Miller), and a pre-accident Cyborg (Ray Fisher).

As of right now the role that these three play is unknown and whether or not they just have significant cameos is unclear. As the months roll on, this movie will start to gain more and more “hype” especially with Warner Bros. and DC Comics marketing campaign starting up in the coming months.

Captain America: Civil War

The next movie that is set to be released in 2016 is another one of the more larger movies of the year. That movie is the last in the Captain America trilogy and one that fans lost their minds when it was announced, that is Captain America: Civil War.

Credit: Civil War

Credit: Civil War

This movie will be a slight adaptation from one of Marvel’s most popular and best selling comic story arcs Civil War. This story arc focuses on what would happen if the government decided to start to register people with powers so that they know who they are meaning giving up superheroes identities. This comes after a super villain uses his powers to explode and kills a whole school of kids and other people around him. With the argument about the registration act heroes begin to choose sides on whether or not they agree with this new bill. Iron man takes the side of the government and Captain America chooses to oppose the government’s new law. Heroes begin to choose sides and the war begins. In this slight adaptation it will have Captain America’s team being Winter Soldier, Falcon, Ant man, Agent 13, and Hawkeye. Iron man’s team will consist of Black Panther, Black Widow, War Machine, and Vision.

Credit: Civil War

Credit: Civil War

This will be the first time that Black Panther will be seen on the big screen and is one of the most anticipated characters to come in the the Marvel Cinematic Universe (MCU) since the Avengers assembled. Another huge hero will be entering the MCU for the first time and is probably one of the most beloved and well known Marvel hero. Spider-man will be entering the MCU as a young high school freshman and will already have his powers he will also have some major scenes within the movie.  Fans are still sitting at the edge of their seats hoping for the day that Marvel releases the first Captain America Civil War trailer.

This highly anticipated film will be releasing on May 6, 2016.

X-Men Apocalypse

The next on our 2015 superhero movie list is X-men: Apocalypse! The next movie in Fox’s very successful “X-men” movies. It will be directed by Bryan Singer and will be concluding the X-men: First Class trilogy. This will be the largest movie of the “X-men” movies and will be one that many fans could not believe will be happening. This movie will continue the storyline of post X-men: Days of Futures Past, which was one if not the most popular “X-men” movie to date. The events of  X-men: Days of Futures Past has rewritten the timeline causing everything prior to that movie to become an alternate timeline to the one currently happening. In X-men: Apocalypse fans will be seeing a bunch of new younger versions of everyone’s favourite mutants including Jean Grey! The story will be an adaptation of major story event X-men: Age of Apocalypse. The main synopsis for the film has been released:

Since the dawn of civilization, he was worshiped as a god. Apocalypse, the first and most powerful mutant from Marvel’s X-Men universe, amassed the powers of many other mutants, becoming immortal and invincible. Upon awakening after thousands of years, he is disillusioned with the world as he finds it and recruits a team of powerful mutants, including a disheartened Magneto (Michael Fassbender), to cleanse mankind and create a new world order, over which he will reign. As the fate of the Earth hangs in the balance, Raven (Jennifer Lawrence) with the help of Professor X (James McAvoy) must lead a team of young X-Men to stop their greatest nemesis and save mankind from complete destruction.

IMDB

X-men: Apocalypse is going to be one of the largest and most talked about films in the franchise’s history. X-men: Apocalypse releases May 27th, 2016.

The next movie on our 2016 movie list as of right now has little information on it. That movie is Gambit, which will star Channing Tatum as Gambit himself. Gambit is a mutant in the “X-Men” universe who can manipulate, control, and create pure kinetic energy. He focuses this energy into playing cards, which explains his name. The movie will be adding this fan favorite character into the “X-Men” universe and will likely be a good change for the franchise. The only true news to come out of the project is that it sadly lost its director Rupert Wyatt due to scheduling conflicts with another project.

The movie is slated to be released in October 7th, 2016.

Doctor Strange

The next movie on the slate is a rather big one for Marvel. This movie will be the new Doctor Strange movie. This movie will be starring Benedict Cumberbatch as Doctor Strange himself and will be a very different type of movie than what the Marvel Cinematic Universe is used to. This movie has been described as Marvel’s fantasia. It also is said to have some scary elements in it since the character is well known to travel between dimensions Doctor Strange is one of the most interesting characters in Marvel’s lineup.

The synopsis of Doctor Strange provided by ScreenRant is “Before he met the Sorcerer Supreme, Doctor Stephen Vincent Strange was an unlikable and egotistical neurosurgeon. Everything changes when a car accident limits Strange’s use of his hands, sending him on a maddening quest for a miracle cure. This origin story introduces the magical and mystical realms of the Marvel Cinematic Universe.” This movie can potentially beat out Captain America: Civil War in the “Best Marvel Movie of 2016” if it is done right.

As of now, some fans of the Marvel movies have begun to see a pattern in how each movie is directed and projects seem to have the same feel movie to movie. However, certain new Marvel films have begun breaking the mold and in doing so have really caught fans attention like Captain America: The Winter Soldier. 

This movie is slated to be released on November 4th, 2016.

Suicide Squad

The second to last film on our slate is the highly anticipated DC Comics film next to Batman v. Superman: Dawn of Justice is Suicide Squad. This movie will be the first of it’s kind as it will be a film focusing on the villains instead of the hero. This will also be the second film in the newly formed DC Extended Universe.

The film is an adaptation of the Suicide Squad comics that is about a  secret government agency run by Amanda Waller, named A.R.G.U.S creates a task force comprised of super villains, the “Suicide Squad”. They are assigned to execute dangerous tasks in exchange for shorter prison sentences. The villains slated to be in the movie are The Joker (Jared Leto), Harley Quinn (Margot Robbie), Deadshot (Will Smith), Enchantress (Cara Delevingne), Captain Boomerang (Jai Courtney), Killer Croc (Adewale Akinnuoye-agbaje), Slipknot (Adam Beach), and El Diablo (Jay Hernandez). This also will feature Viola Davis as the ever manipulative Amanda Waller. This movie is so crucial to the DC Extended Universe  because it not only is introducing these titular Batman villains into the universe all at once but we will be getting our first movie with the DCEU’s Joker and the first ever big screen adaptation of the fan favorite Harley Quinn. This film will also show off the first connectivity of the DCEU with a scene or two of Batman (Ben Affleck) being in the film.

The movie will likely be rated “R” and will be one that will be dark, gritty, and potentially scary.

This second movie in the DCEU is slated to be released on August 5th, 2016.

2016 set to be one for this history books, and now your ready to enjoy an awesome year at the movies!

 

Ryan Mayer is a Contributor to ComiConverse. Follow him on Twitter: @RMayer94

(Visited 1,014 times, 1 visits today)

51 Comments

  1. website link says:

    I simply want to tell you that I am just all new to blogs and definitely savored you’re blog site. Very likely I’m want to bookmark your website . You actually come with very good writings. Kudos for sharing with us your webpage.

  2. I just want to tell you that I am just newbie to weblog and honestly enjoyed you’re blog site. Very likely I’m likely to bookmark your site . You absolutely have wonderful articles and reviews. Thanks a bunch for revealing your web page.

  3. If you’re still on the fence: grab your favorite earphones, head down to a Best Buy and ask to plug them into a Zune then an iPod and see which one sounds better to you, and which interface makes you smile more. Then you’ll know which is right for you.

  4. i like it jobs because it is a high paying job and you work in an air conditioned office**

  5. Business says:

    Unquestionably believe that which you said. Your favorite justification seemed to be on the net the easiest thing to be aware of. I say to you, I certainly get irked while people think about worries that they plainly do not know about. You managed to hit the nail upon the top and defined out the whole thing without having side-effects , people could take a signal. Will probably be back to get more. Thanks

  6. Thank you a lot for sharing this with all folks you really know what you are talking approximately! Bookmarked. Please additionally visit my web site =). We can have a link trade arrangement among us!

  7. Sports says:

    I have been browsing online more than 3 hours today, yet I never found any interesting article like yours. It is pretty worth enough for me. In my opinion, if all web owners and bloggers made good content as you did, the web will be a lot more useful than ever before.

  8. Automotive says:

    Keep functioning ,splendid job!

  9. Sports says:

    I’ve been absent for some time, but now I remember why I used to love this site. Thanks , I will try and check back more frequently. How frequently you update your web site?

  10. Automotive says:

    you are truly a excellent webmaster. The web site loading speed is incredible. It seems that you’re doing any distinctive trick. Furthermore, The contents are masterwork. you have done a wonderful activity in this matter!

  11. I¡¦ve read a few good stuff here. Definitely value bookmarking for revisiting. I wonder how so much effort you put to create the sort of wonderful informative website.

  12. Travel says:

    Usually I do not learn article on blogs, but I wish to say that this write-up very compelled me to take a look at and do it! Your writing style has been amazed me. Thanks, very great article.

  13. I have been absent for some time, but now I remember why I used to love this website. Thank you, I will try and check back more frequently. How frequently you update your site?

  14. You could definitely see your enthusiasm within the paintings you write. The world hopes for even more passionate writers such as you who are not afraid to mention how they believe. Always go after your heart.

  15. Wow, marvelous weblog structure! How lengthy have you ever been running a blog for? you make blogging glance easy. The overall look of your site is great, as smartly as the content material!

  16. I like the valuable information you provide in your articles. I will bookmark your blog and check again here regularly. I am quite certain I will learn a lot of new stuff right here! Best of luck for the next!

  17. Pets says:

    It¡¦s actually a cool and useful piece of information. I¡¦m satisfied that you just shared this useful info with us. Please keep us informed like this. Thank you for sharing.

  18. I enjoy you because of every one of your efforts on this site. Gloria really likes conducting internet research and it is simple to grasp why. I notice all concerning the powerful tactic you give reliable thoughts by means of the website and as well as boost response from visitors on the subject and my daughter is truly studying a great deal. Take advantage of the rest of the new year. You have been doing a superb job.

  19. Well I definitely enjoyed studying it. This post offered by you is very practical for proper planning.

  20. Really alluring highlights you’ll have remarked, thanks a lot for setting up.

  21. Emeryeps.com says:

    This is most suitable occasion to create some plans for the forthcoming future. I’ve digested this posting and if I may possibly, I wish to suggest you couple significant proposal.

  22. Business says:

    I got what you intend, appreciate it for posting .Woh I am thankful to find this website through google. “I would rather be a coward than brave because people hurt you when you are brave.” by E. M. Forster.

  23. I dugg some of you post as I thought they were invaluable extremely helpful

  24. Education says:

    magnificent issues altogether, you simply won a new reader. What could you recommend in regards to your post that you simply made a few days in the past? Any positive?

  25. Automotive says:

    This is very interesting, You are a very skilled blogger. I’ve joined your rss feed and look forward to seeking more of your great post. Also, I’ve shared your site in my social networks!

  26. As the admin of this website is working, no uncertainty very rapidly it will be famous, due to its quality contents.

  27. Science says:

    Thank you for the sensible critique. Me and my neighbor were just preparing to do a little research on this. We got a grab a book from our local library but I think I learned more from this post. I’m very glad to see such wonderful information being shared freely out there.

  28. Divorcemind.com is a online divorce resource for divorce attorney, attornies and lawyers. You will find the best divorce information online. Divorce Mind will make your divorce or separation a quick, convenient and private.

  29. divorcemind says:

    Divorcemind.com is a online divorce resource for divorce attorney, attornies and lawyers. You will find the best divorce information online. Divorce Mind will make your divorce or separation a quick, convenient and private.

  30. IMSC SEO is a Singapore SEO Company. They provide comprehensive Singapore SEO services to help SG businesses to gain traffic from search engine. Their SEO agency has many years of experiences working with overseas companies on more competitive grounds. They are the best seo company in Singapore you can find. Their SEO expert and consultant understand exactly what search engine optimization your company need to gain search engine traffic.

  31. Undeniably believe that which you said. Your favorite justification seemed to be on the web the easiest thing to be aware of. I say to you, I certainly get irked while people think about worries that they plainly don’t know about. You managed to hit the nail upon the top and also defined out the whole thing without having side-effects , people could take a signal. Will likely be back to get more. Thanks

  32. divorce mind says:

    Divorcemind.com is a online divorce resource for divorce attorney, attornies and lawyers. You will find the best divorce information online. Divorce Mind will make your divorce or separation a quick, convenient and private.

  33. sacramento says:

    SacramentoCremation.us is one of the leading crematorium services in the Sacramento area. Feel free to contact us regarding any questions on Sacramento Cremation Services or concerns you might have. Our staff will respond to you as soon as possible.

  34. Emeryeps says:

    Emeryeps is a SEO(Search Engine optimzation) and Internet Marketing company. They help businesses to get traffic from various search engine and online community. They have seo experts and consultants with many years of SEO Experiences. No matter where your business is located, EmeryEPS.com can help your business to secure your highly convertible leads online.

  35. MichaelJemery.com is a site with many hypnosis downloads. Whether you are looking for free hypnosis downloads, self hypnosis download for mp3, video and any audio files, Michael Jemery has the downloads for you. You can download hypnosis from apps, audio, mp3 and even youtube !

  36. I’ll gear this review to 2 types of people: current Zune owners who are considering an upgrade, and people trying to decide between a Zune and an iPod. (There are other players worth considering out there, like the Sony Walkman X, but I hope this gives you enough info to make an informed decision of the Zune vs players other than the iPod line as well.)

  37. If you’re still on the fence: grab your favorite earphones, head down to a Best Buy and ask to plug them into a Zune then an iPod and see which one sounds better to you, and which interface makes you smile more. Then you’ll know which is right for you.

  38. IMSC SEO is a Singapore SEO Company. They provide comprehensive Singapore SEO services to help SG businesses to gain traffic from search engine. Their SEO agency has many years of experiences working with overseas companies on more competitive grounds. They are the best seo company in Singapore you can find. Their SEO expert and consultant understand exactly what search engine optimization your company need to gain search engine traffic.

  39. Emeryeps is a SEO(Search Engine optimzation) and Internet Marketing company. They help businesses to get traffic from various search engine and online community. They have seo experts and consultants with many years of SEO Experiences. No matter where your business is located, EmeryEPS.com can help your business to secure your highly convertible leads online.

  40. imsc seo says:

    IMSC SEO is a Singapore SEO Company. They provide comprehensive Singapore SEO services to help SG businesses to gain traffic from search engine. Their SEO agency has many years of experiences working with overseas companies on more competitive grounds. They are the best seo company in Singapore you can find. Their SEO expert and consultant understand exactly what search engine optimization your company need to gain search engine traffic.

  41. Between me and my husband we’ve owned more MP3 players over the years than I can count, including Sansas, iRivers, iPods (classic & touch), the Ibiza Rhapsody, etc. But, the last few years I’ve settled down to one line of players. Why? Because I was happy to discover how well-designed and fun to use the underappreciated (and widely mocked) Zunes are.

  42. More Bonuses says:

    I’m pretty pleased to uncover this website. I want to to thank you for your time for this particularly wonderful read!! I definitely appreciated every little bit of it and I have you book marked to see new information in your website.

  43. YOURURL.com says:

    You’ll find it mostly unattainable to encounter well-educated individuals on this matter, nonetheless you appear like you fully understand what exactly you’re covering! Excellent

  44. It is usually perfect occasion to produce some schedules for the extended term. I’ve scan this blog post and if I have the ability to, I wish to recommend you some remarkable recommendations.

  45. I keep listening to the reports lecture about getting boundless online grant applications so I have been looking around for the best site to get one. Could you tell me please, where could i acquire some?

  46. fantastic post, very informative. I wonder why the opposite specialists of this sector don’t realize this. You must proceed your writing. I’m sure, you have a huge readers’ base already!

  47. As I site possessor I believe the content matter here is rattling great , appreciate it for your efforts. You should keep it up forever! Good Luck.

  48. If you’re still on the fence: grab your favorite earphones, head down to a Best Buy and ask to plug them into a Zune then an iPod and see which one sounds better to you, and which interface makes you smile more. Then you’ll know which is right for you.

  49. I keep listening to the reports speak about getting boundless online grant applications so I have been looking around for the best site to get one. Could you advise me please, where could i get some?

  50. I am just commenting to let you know what a perfect discovery my wife’s child gained using your blog. She discovered numerous issues, not to mention what it is like to possess an awesome helping mood to make the others clearly know certain grueling subject areas. You really surpassed our own desires. Thanks for producing such warm and friendly, safe, informative and even unique guidance on your topic to Ethel.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Pin It on Pinterest

Share This